By-Laws
First Presbyterian Church
Connersville, Indiana
Revised January 2016

- 1. The First Presbyterian Church of Connersville, Indiana, being a particular congregation of the Presbyterian Church (USA), recognizes that the Constitution of said Church is, in all its provisions, obligatory upon it and its members.
- There shall be an annual meeting of the congregation in the church edifice in the first quarter of the year at a time and date set by the Session for the transaction of any business properly coming before such meeting,
- 3. Special meetings may be called by the Session or the Presbytery. Such calls shall state clearly the purpose of such special meeting, and no other matter save that specified in the call may be considered.
- 4. Public notice of the time, place, and purpose of all meetings of the congregation shall be given on two successive Sundays.
- 5. The Pastor shall be the moderator of all meetings of the congregation. When the church is without a Pastor, the moderator of the Session appointed by the Presbytery shall preside at all congregational meetings. If it is impractical for the Pastor or the moderator of Session appointed by the Presbytery to preside, he or she shall invite, with the concurrence of the Session, another minister of the Presbytery to preside. When this is not expedient, and when both the Pastor or the moderator of the Session and the Session concur, a member of the Session may be invited to preside.
- 6. The clerk of the Session shall be secretary of meetings of the congregation. If the clerk is unable to serve, the congregation shall elect a secretary. The minutes of each meeting of the congregation all be attested by the moderator and the secretary and shall be entered in the minutes book of the Session.
- 7. The congregation is made up all members on the active roll of the First Presbyterian Church of Connersville, Indiana. All such members who are present at a congregational meeting are entitled to vote.
- 8. As required by the laws of the State of Indiana, only members of full age (18 years) shall be eligible to vote on questions dealing with property and matters that are strictly the business of the corporation. Voting by proxy is not allowed. Members voting must be present.

- 9. Meetings shall be conducted in accordance with the General Rules for Judicatories adopted by the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (USA), so far as they apply, and when they do not apply, according to usual legislative rules of order.
- 10. All meetings shall be opened and closed with prayer.
- 11. A quorum shall consist of the moderator, secretary, and one-tenth of the members, unless the laws of the State of Indiana require a different quorum.
- 12. Session shall consist of a minimum of three (3) ruling elders, each elected for a minimum one-year term at a meeting of the congregation held at a date during the last quarter of the year, as set by Session. No ruling elder shall serve on the Session for consecutive terms, either full or partial, aggregating more than six years. At the end of six years of service, a ruling elder shall be ineligible to be elected to a new term until one year shall have elapsed.
- 13. The Board of Deacons shall consist of a minimum of three (3) deacons, each elected for a minimum one-year term at a meeting of the congregation held at a date during the months of October or November, as set by Session. No deacon shall serve on the Board of Deacons for consecutive terms, either full or partial, aggregating more than six years. At the end of six years of service, a deacon shall be ineligible to be elected to a new term until one year shall have elapsed.
- 14. Vacancies on the Session or Board of Deacons may be filled at a special meeting of the congregation or at the annual meeting, as the Session may determine; or the Session may appoint elders or deacons not in active service to serve in vacancies, but only until the next elections.
- 15. The First Presbyterian Church of Connersville, Indiana, is incorporated under the laws of the State of Indiana. The elders in active service in this church who are eligible under civil law shall be the trustees of this corporation. The Pastor shall be, *ex officio*, president of the Board of Trustees, and the Clerk of Session shall be, *ex officio*, Secretary of the Board of Trustees.
- 16. The Session shall elect a Church Treasurer annually, and his or her work shall be supervised by the Session. The minimum standards of financial procedure stated in the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA) shall be observed. [See the Form of Government, section G.10.0400.]
- 17. A quorum for Session meetings shall be a simple majority of the Session, except for the reception and dismission of members, when a quorum shall be the moderator and two members of the Session. A quorum for deacons' meetings shall be a simple majority of the deacons.

- 18. There shall be a representative nominating committee chosen in accordance with the provisions of the Form of Government [see section 14.0201b.] The committee shall bring to a meeting of the congregation held at a date during the months of October or November as set by the Session nominations of one eligible person only for each office to be filled on the Session, Deacons, and the congregational nominating committee. Additional nominations of qualified persons may be made from the floor by any eligible voter, provided that the person nominated has agreed to serve if elected.
- 19. These bylaws may be amended subject to the charter of the corporation, the laws of the State of Indiana, and the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA) at any annual meeting or at any special meeting by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the voters present, provided that a full reading of the proposed changes or a printed distribution of the same shall have been made in connection with the call of the meeting.
- 20. These bylaws or the charter of this corporation may not be amended contrary to or so as not to include the provisions of the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA).